Learning Happily ~~ A country song I wrote… or if you call it a song! ;)

Image

Well, I guess it is needless to explain from the heading of this blog… I’m learning to write songs. At present attending an online Songwriting course. What matters are: It is 1) offered by the very very prestigious Berklee College of Music and 2) taught by Pat Pattison! It is really exciting.

As the course is going on, I have learnt, and still learning, about many enlightening aspects of songwriting, especially about the thought-process behind a song.. how to include the idea of the central emotion or message of the song  in the song’s body while it gets its shape.

I have also learnt that the song structure is really important for developing the sections of the song. One of the types is “Verse-Chorus” form, most widely used in popular song culture.

Traditionally they are of following types:

1. It can be Verse–Chorus–Verse–Chorus (V-C-V-C)

2. Verse–Verse–Bridge–Verse (V-V-B-V)

3. Verse–Chorus–Verse–Chorus–Bridge–Chorus (V-C-V-C-B-C)

4. Verse–Pre-Chorus–Chorus–Verse–Pre-Chorus–Chorus–Bridge–Chorus (V-PC-C-V-PC-C-B-C)

Also there is Simple V-C form and contrasting V-C form..

and also there are so many elements of songwriting other than structure …

phew!

Ohkay, don’t want to overwhelm anyone anymore. If anyone is interested, please check the site https://www.coursera.org/ , register, search for the course and swing on! 🙂

Now, as I submitted an assignment, I came up with Verse–Pre-Chorus–Chorus–Verse–Pre-Chorus–Chorus (V-PC-C-V-PC-C).

So! Here’s the song I wrote at a go.. it has a calm country mood in it I guess!
Here it goes:

Image

“They Lovingly Tell me”

I took off my stony shoes

I threw off my rocky bag

 I lay down on the ground in a sad and strange evening.

The soft grass tickles me behind the ear

The misty breeze soothes my face and hair

They lovingly tell me,

“Everything’s better in the morning”,

They lovingly tell me,

“Never leave your dreams, my darling.”

I didn’t know where to look

I didn’t know how to solve these

All but defeated..

The white half-moon above smiles at me

The tall trees tosses heads, out of glee

They lovingly tell me,

“Everything’s better in the morning”,

They lovingly tell me,

“Never leave your dreams, my darling.”

2 thoughts on “Learning Happily ~~ A country song I wrote… or if you call it a song! ;)

Leave a Reply

